First Trip after Lockdown. 7th July 2020

Hi All,

Well its been a long time since i opened the pages on ‘The Fat Boys Breakfast Blog’ and I’m really missing it, though there are some advantages.

When I first started ‘Blogging about Bacon’ I was a mere 103 Kilos, today I’m 87kg.

Thats not all due to an ‘abstinence of Bangers’ but it has helped.

In my hay day I was eating a fried breakfast at least 4 times a week. I would even cook eggs and bacon at home rather than eat Cereals, which always gave me indigestion.

I told myself that frying in extra virgin Olive Oil, cutting the rind off the bacon and using low fat spread on wholemeal toast wasn’t doing me any harm.

Then I had a Heart Attack and I had to re-think things.

Now I eat Bacon on a Saturday or Sunday only and save myself for when I get to go out with Kev (my mate from the Fire Brigade days) or Maria (my Sister) and even then I find myself being tempted by strange Fruit. Well, alternatives to Bacon and Sausage.

So Tuesday 7th July it was Jaki’s birthday.

I had to go down to Chelsea Rd in Bath to collect some more ‘Artificial Turf’ from my mates shop, Interior Harmony    (in place advertising going on here). They sell it and he had two off cut’s left over from a job which he wanted to get rid off as it was taking up way too much space in the warehouse and i wanted to try it as an alternative to split Flint at home.

We decided to see if we could get some lunch somewhere after collecting the grass and a new Vegetarian Restaurant had opened at the bottom of Chelsea Rd called “Rooted” which has gained a bit of a reputation.

It looked really good with a nice wooden deck at the front but when we went inside all the available tables (bear in mind the new Covid 19 rules and social distancing) were taken (though one guy was sat at a table using his laptop without any food or drink in front of him) so we would have to sit outside.

Rooted 2

We took some menu’s to look at but realised it was just too cold to eat outside, not least because the food would get cold too quickly. So reluctantly we moved on, which is a shame because the menu looked amazing.

Rooted Menu

We set off back up Chelsea Rd and had a look first in the Deli which had some tables outside but didn’t seem to have any customers and then on to Chelsea Rd Cafe at the top of the rank.

Chelsea rd Cafe

They didn’t seem to be as strict on social distancing and we were told to sit anywhere.

The stripped pine tables all seemed to be in the same places as they were the last time I visited and most already had people sat at them.

Stripped pine tables

The Menu was nowhere near as exciting and I have to say the decor and ambiance inside was tired, dated and very much in need of some TLC. It was also a bit cold with the front door wedged open.

We both chose Westcombe Rarebit Toastie with House Pickle ( £5.50 each) and given I’ve had the Tea here before (on many occasions) and didn’t like it, we both went for a Flat white Coffee.

The Coffee (£2.60 each) was fresh made so came ‘one at a time’ and Jaki was half way through hers before mine arrived.

I should have paid more attention as her expression changed when she sipped her Coffee, which looked pretty but tasted ‘awful’.

Chelsea Rd Coffee

Now I’m not a great Coffee Connoisseur so It might be that I just don’t appreciate their blend but I thought it tasted awful. It tasted of Chicory.

That awful Camp Coffee my Mum used to keep in the back of a cupboard for when she wanted to impress guests with her sophistication.

But even Jaki winced when she tasted it and neither of us finished our drinks.

camp

We were given a Biro and asked to put our name and contact details on a slip of paper incase we had to be traced. What its didn’t say was the date and time so I’m wondering how this will work?

However, given everyone in the Cafe was offered the same pen to use, I wondered when this would get cleaned as they certainly didn’t sterilise it after we used it and it could easily be ‘the item’ that spread Corona around the Customers?

I didn’t see any hand wash either but I might have just missed that. Luckily we carry our own which we used regularly throughout our visit.

Then our food arrived and I have to say it was ‘underwhelming’.

The Bread was a bit on the dark side and looked like it was two steps away from being burnt. The Pickle was a watery Pink colour but the combination was less than appealing.

Westcombe rarebit Toastie with House Pickle

Sadly the taste wasn’t any better. In fact it was horrible.

The sandwich had almost no taste of Cheese. It was a ‘Mustard Sandwich’ and given Jaki doesn’t like Mustard in the first place, it was  definitely the wrong choice.

Sadly, it was hard to eat.

The ‘Brown Mush’ that was inside the sandwich looked unappealing and tasted awful.

They would have been better off making ‘Cheese on Toast with Branston Pickle’ rather than this pretentious nonsense.

So we paid up and left.

We wont go back again unless they radically change the decor and the menu.

This was a very disappointing first trip out after Lockdown so things can only get better.

My advice if you head for Chelsea Rd and get hungry,:

Go in the Bakers and buy a pastie or a sandwich if you want to eat on the go, or better still, book in at the Veggie at the bottom of the road. but don’t waste your money in Chelsea Rd Cafe.

Leave a comment